Chakras are the name given to the energy centers in our body through which energy flows. The name comes from the Sanskrit word meaning ‘wheel’, so a chakra is considered the ‘Wheel of spinning Energy’ within. We mostly concern ourselves with the seven major chakras, and in mala and intention work – especially with semi-precious gemstones – chakra stimulation is an important factor.


Another way to look at chakras is like a vertical current of power running up your spine – a source of energy for your spiritual and physical bodies – and a means of connecting the two. Ensuring that the flow of energy along this vertical ‘power supply’ is clear, constant and at an optimum level is key to ensuring not only your physical health – but your spiritual health as well. Problems or blockages in chakra centers due to stress or emotional or physical issues can in turn lead to physical illness, and mental and emotional imbalance.


This diagram shows the location of the seven chakras in the body. Each has a color and ‘body center’ associated with it. This is especially important when relating back to the colours and vibrations of the stones used in mala making.


Chakra 1 - The Base (or Root Chakra)

This is the Chakra located at the very base of the spine – and thus is the closest to the earth. It is concerned with grounding and physical survival. It controls our fight or flight response and a lack of balance here can manifest anxiety, fear, procrastination and defensiveness.

The red, brown and black gemstones like jasper, obsidian, onyx, smoky quartz, bloodstone assist in work in this area.


Chakra 2 – The Sacral (or Navel Chakra)

This chakra is located between the base of the spine and the navel – meaning it is concerned with the circulatory, waste removal and reproductive functions. This chakra represents intense emotions; desire, pleasure, sexuality, procreation and creativity and imbalances or blockages manifest in compulsive or obsessive behaviors, emotional problems and guilt.

Orange gemstones like carnelian, orange calcite, peach /yellow moonstone and some agates and jaspers assist in work in this area.


Chakra 3 – The Solar Plexus

This chakra is located a few inches above the navel in the area of solar plexus. It is concerned with the digestive system, abdominal muscles, pancreas and adrenals This is where the day to day emotional life is anchored; personal power, laughter, joy and anger are associated with this centre. Blockage or imbalance in this area may manifest as anger, frustration, lack of direction or ambition, insensitivity or a sense of victimisation.

Yellow gemstones will help work in this area: golden tigers eye, honey calcite and citrine


Chakra 4 – The Heart

This chakra is located at the heart – and is the centre of love, compassion, harmony and peace. Besides the heart, this chakra is also concerned with the lungs, arms and hands. Imbalance and blockage can result in problems with the immune system, lungs or heart.  They can also manifest as inhumanity, a lack of compassion or unethical behaviour.

Green gemstones that can support work with this chakra include aventurine, malachite and jade. Pink gemstones such as rose quartz, rhodonite and rhodochrosite are also good for working with the heart chakra.


Chakra 5. The Throat

This chakra is located within the throat and it is concerned with communication, creativity, self-expression and judgement. Apart from the throat, this chakra is also associated with the neck and shoulders, hands and thyroid and parathyroid glands.  Synthesising  ideas, purification, healing, transformation and inner hearing are associated with this chakra. Imbalance and blockage present as throat and thyroid issues and also as creative blocks, dishonesty or problems of communicating with others – particularly one’s wants and needs.

Blue gemstones that support work with this chakra include chalcedony, turquoise, chrysocolla, blue lace agate and angelite


Chakra 6 – The Third Eye (or Brow Chakra)

This chakra is located at the centre of the forehead slightly above eye level. It is the source of our need to find a spiritual purpose in life. This chakra is concerned perception, inner vision, intuition and wisdom. Dreams for this lifetime are associated with this chakra. Imbalance can manifest as mental rigidity, ‘selective’ memory and depression.

Indigo gemstones for working with the Third Eye include  lapis lazuli, sodalite and sapphire.


Chakra 7 – The Crown

This chakra is located at the crown of the head and is associated with our cerebral and nervous system functioning. This chakra is concerned with information, understanding and acceptance. Ultimately, this chakra is concerned with finding a connection to the Divine and from there one’s divine purpose, personal destiny and bliss. Blockage here can manifest as psychological problems.

Violet gemstones for working with the crown chakra include amethyst, lepidolite and sugilite. White and clear stones are also good for working with the crown chakra including white calcite, clear and rutilated quartzes and selenite.